Two high school seniors named 2016 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

The Community Foundation of Bloomington and Monroe Country has announced the 2016 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship recipients. Ms. Greer King and and Mr. Brian Emmons were chosen from among 42 applicants representing three high schools in Monroe County.

Each will receive a four-year, full-tuition scholarship to an Indiana public or private college of their choosing. In addition to the cost of tuition, they will receive a $900 annual stipend for books and other required materials.

Greer King of Bloomington High School North is the daughter of Kane & Paris King and plans to attend Indiana University to study business economics and public policy. She is a member of National Honor Society, serving as vice president, and participates in the Life Skills Academy. She is a member of the student athletic board and has served four years on student council. Over the last two years, she has completed internships with the Indiana University Kelley School of Business and Habitat for Humanity of Monroe County. Greer has been active in tennis, swimming and rowing. Her community efforts include volunteering with Habitat for Humanity, Dance Marathon, Hoosiers Outrun Cancer and Book Buddies, where she has read to children for the last four years. A mission trip to Guatemala as a sophomore two years ago changed her life profoundly and gave her a new perspective. She now has a passion for those living in poverty and intends to be a part of eradicating substandard housing in Bloomington.

“I am humbled and honored to be one of the 2016 Lilly Scholars,” said King. “This has been such an amazing and exciting experience. I would like to thank my teachers at Bloomington High School North and my family for supporting me, and the Community Foundation for granting me this opportunity.”

Brian Emmons of Bloomington High School North is the son of Donald and Julie Adams. He plans to attend Indiana University in the fall and study informatics. Brian is the president and founder of the Life Skills Academy, and has volunteered for several organizations including Habitat for Humanity, Volunteers in Medicine, Interfaith Winter Shelter and Hoosiers Outrun Cancer. Brian is a four-year member of Business Professionals of America and the Young Republicans Club. Brian played tennis and soccer, and has been involved in mission trips to inner cities across the U.S. over the last five years. Brian is passionate about providing solutions to the widening gap between the rich and the poor, and believes that a future in informatics can help narrow that gap.

“I am deeply honored and appreciative that I was selected as a Lilly Scholar,” said Emmons. “Going through the finalist process was an amazing experience. It will be an honor to attend college as a member of the Lilly community, and I look forward to being able to give back to this program in the future.”

The selection committee used a blind review process to score written applications from eight finalists. The other finalists, along with King and Emmons, were Emily Finley, Hailea Howard, Catherine May, Jacquelyn Parkes, Carter Sims and Ian Zanger. Each finalist was interviewed, with their interview scores tallied alongside the scores from the written portion of their application. The rankings, along with the committee’s recommendations were submitted to and approved by Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc., a nonprofit corporation representing 31 regionally accredited degree-granting colleges and universities in the state.

“We had a tremendous group of finalists this year who demonstrate leadership in academics, extracurricular activities and in service to their community,” said Jean Emery, chair of the Community Foundation’s Scholarship Selection Committee. “Greer and Brian exemplify the high-caliber students we’ve come to expect. We’re thrilled to provide them with this opportunity to pursue their career aspirations and we look forward to the contributions they will make in their communities.”

Since 1998, the Lilly Endowment Scholarship Program has assisted more than 4,000 Indiana high school graduates with more than $300 million in tuition for pursuing baccalaureate degrees at Indiana colleges and universities.

“For 19 years, the Community Foundation has been fortunate to work with the Lilly Endowment and Independent Colleges of Indiana to select 58 Monroe County Lilly scholars,” said Community Foundation President and CEO, Tina Peterson.

“This scholarship allows them to pursue careers that might otherwise have been unattainable and helps us increase the odds that many of these young people stay here, in Indiana, to become the citizens and leaders needed to ensure a bright, prosperous future for our communities.”

Previous Lilly scholarship recipients from Monroe County include:
Amber (Martindale) Yount (BHSS); Butler
Rebecca (Strain) Spriggs (Edgewood); University of Evansville
Kathleen Tran (BHSS); Indiana University
Aaron Ray (Edgewood); Indiana University
Amanda Horvath (BHSS); Notre Dame
Nathan Fuller (BHSN); Rose-Hulman
Andrew Krebbs (Edgewood); Indiana University
Michael Goodman (BHSN); Indiana University
Alison O’Malley (Edgewood); Butler
Morgan Volrich Riggs (BHSN); Indiana University
Lindsay Kile (Edgewood); Purdue
Ruthie (Willsey) Sterrett (BHSS); Purdue
Ann Marshall (BHSN); Indiana University
Elizabeth Sloan (BHSN); Indiana University
Reed Carmichael (BHSN); DePauw University
Talialin Fehrenbach (BHSS); Butler
Theodore (Tio) Savich (BHSN); Earlham
Aliese Sarkissian (BHSN); DePauw University
Virginia Chappell (BHSS); Indiana University
Michael Kruszynski (Indiana Academy); Rose-Hulman
James Moynihan (Edgewood); Butler
Andrea (Stalcup) Wallace (Edgewood); University of Evansville
Amber (Knowlton) Todd (BHSS); Indiana University
David Courtney (BHSS); Earlham
Jennifer Richardson (BHSN); Indiana University
Robert (Matt) Hawkins (Edgewood); Rose-Hulman
Abram Hess (Indiana Academy); Indiana University
Anand Patel (BHSN); Indiana University
Ryan Hodge (Indiana Academy); Rose-Hulman
Isaac (Ike) Dolby (BHSN); Purdue
Jennifer (Laird) Black (BHSS); Butler
Tara Langvardt (Edgewood); DePauw University
Caitlin (Odya) Homenda (Edgewood); Indiana University
Mark Strother (BHSN); Indiana University
Manisha Patel (BHSN); Indiana University
Jesse Pontius (BHSN); Purdue University
David Kim (BHSN); Notre Dame
Jenna Beasley (BHSN); Indiana University
Meehan Lenzen (BHSN); Notre Dame
Kristen Miller (BHSS); Indiana University
Ashley Larason (BHSS); Purdue University
Thomas Weakley (Edgewood); DePauw / Indiana University
Miranda Arthur (Edgewood); Butler
Audrey Ernst (Edgewood); University of Indianapolis
Bhavin Patel (BHSN); Indiana University
Stephen Zerfas (BHSN); Notre Dame
Maha Elsarrag (BHSN); Indiana University
Lynne Bauman (BHSS); Notre Dame
Evelyn Bauman (BHSS); Notre Dame
Alex St. John (BHSN); Indiana University
Hannah Alani (BHSS); Indiana University
Shannon Jager (BHSN); DePauw University
Emma St. John (BHSN); Indiana University
Winston Winkler (BHSN); Indiana University
Sidrah Din (BHSS); Rose-Hulman
Riley Callahan (Lighthouse Christian Academy); Rose-Hulman

About Community Foundation of Bloomington and Monroe County:
Created by individuals, families and businesses who share a passion for Monroe County and a vision for its future, the Community Foundation of Bloomington and Monroe County has granted $23 million to more than 400 local nonprofit organizations since its incorporation in 1990. With a growing $26 million endowment, the Foundation makes a difference by connecting caring people, important causes and community resources.